top of page

Mayor McTizic Elected to Tennessee Municipal League Board

Henderson Mayor Bobby King and Mayor McTizic

NASHVILLE –Mayor Julian McTizic, was elected to the board of directors of the Tennessee Municipal League (TML) during the League's annual business meeting recently held in Gatlinburg. In addition, Bobby King, Henderson's Mayor, was elected President.

Mayor McTizic was nominated by the TML membership for consideration by a five-member nominating committee composed of municipal officials statewide. He was then elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the membership. Any current elected or appointed official with a municipality that is a participating member of the Tennessee Municipal League was encouraged to submit the name(s) of deserving and qualified individual(s) for consideration.

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Bolivar City Council for their support of myself and our staff. I look forward to serving on the TML board while representing Bolivar as well as other towns and cities across the state," said Mayor McTizic.

Founded in 1940 and based in Nashville, TML is a nonprofit organization founded by cities and towns for mutual assistance and improvement. Representing 99 percent of Tennessee's municipal citizens, the organization advocates for needed legislative action by the General Assembly, represents municipal interests before state departments and agencies, and – working through the National League of Cities in Washington – seeks to influence federal legislation and policies affecting municipal governments.

As a member of the TML board of directors, Mayor McTizic will propose and help determine legislation municipalities need passed into law and establish policy priorities for the League.

Other board elections include two vice presidents: Ron Williams, 1st Vice President and Farragut Mayor; and Paige Brown, TML 2nd Vice President, and Gallatin Mayor. TML vice presidents are traditionally in line to serve as President.

The TML board includes mayors of Tennessee's largest cities, eight district directors, and four at-large directors.

The four urban mayors are Chattanooga Mayor Tim Kelly, Knoxville Mayor Indya Kincannon, Memphis Mayor Jim Strickland, and Metro Nashville Mayor John Cooper.

The eight district directors representing their section of the state, were nominated and elected during district caucuses. They are: District 1: Darrell Duncan, Kingsport alderman; District 2: David Smoak, Farragut city administrator, District 3: Chris Dorsey, East Ridge city manager; District 4: Keith Morrison, Algood city administrator; District 5: Ann Schneider, Springfield mayor; District 6: Blake Lay, Lawrenceburg mayor; District 7: Mike French, Somerville alderman; and District 8: Bethany Huffman, Millington Alderwoman.

The four at-large directors were nominated by a five-member nominating committee composed of municipal officials statewide. They were then elected for a one-year term by a majority vote of the entire membership. Those directors are: Kevin Brooks, Cleveland mayor; Roland Dykes, Newport mayor; Julian McTizic, Bolivar mayor; and Kirk Bednar, Brentwood city manager.

Kay Senter, Morristown councilmember and chairman of the Tennessee Municipal Bond Fund also sits on the board. And a representative from an affiliate organization is also voting board member, Tim Ellis, Goodlettsville city manager and President of the Tennessee City Management Association.

51 views0 comments


bottom of page